#16: Why I Love Playing NBA 2K “My Career” Mode

Why I Love Playing NBA 2K “My Career” Mode

Author: Tana Smith

Why do I play 2K My Career mode more than anything?

I ask myself that every time I play.

Yes, I’m not the greatest 2K player when my homies are over. But that’s because I’m addicted to My Career mode over everything, and only good at one-on-one matchups. It’s simple and it’s emotional, something you can latch on to while living vicariously through the video game.

I’m one of those (or maybe the only) 2K player that is constantly changing my My Player instead of creating new careers separately or just updating My Player appearances. I create everything from funny name generators, such as my best My Player- “Makeyu Squirt”, a 6’3 Asian 3-pt shooting Point Guard for the New Jersey Nets from 2K11, or fictional cartoon characters, like my current My Player- “Bob Belcher”, on 2K17 based off of Bob’s Burgers, Slashing Point Guard for the Atlanta Hawks.

Don’t worry, I’m not one of those players that plays on Rookie. In fact, I play on Hall of Fame (which is okay, I guess, but still?). And now, 2K17 has motivated me even more since they take a VC deduction when you play at a lower difficulty level.

I’m not sure what all this says about me as a person, but I love it. I’ve come across memes on Twitter that degrade dudes that create other My Players other than themselves, but fuck it, I’ll just keep doing me. I like the idea of making these impossible fictional players coming to life playing against some of the world’s greatest athletes. And in a sense, I think the niggas that pick themselves as a My Career are more sus. You’re putting your depiction of yourself in another man’s voice and another man’s body in front of the green screen. And, on a deeper level, you’re seeing yourself reach an impossible goal and getting caught in this unattainable lifestyle.

But anyway, I don’t really give a fuck because I love My Career. The evolution of the game, year after year, has been fun to experience; and the implementation of Michael B. Jordan as your “dynamic duo” concept is lit, too. I’m happy they went to this year’s structure instead of last year’s Spike Lee joint (talk about depressing for E for everyone). I’ve tried My GM, My Team, and all the other game modes, but I’m telling you, none seem to give the same satisfaction.

I’m set in stone in my ways. And I’m stoned. So I’m going to go play 2K now. Let’s just see if I can finally make it past a sophomore season.

  • Kicks to wear while playing 2K: Since we’re talking My Career, and since Kobe did the intro for this year’s mode, I would say Kobe’s first shoe- Adidas Crazy 8.
  • What would you change “Orange Juice” to?: Savage Season
  • What song would you add to this year’s soundtrack?: 

♦♦♦

*ANY SUGGESTIONS FOR NEXT WEEK’S “TUNE OF THE WEEK?” GO TO OUR CONTACT US PAGE FOR MORE INFORMATION ON SUBMISSIONS.
*ALL SHOE LINKS ARE PROVIDED BY STOCKX, GIVING YOU THE WORLD’S FIRST SNEAKER STOCK MARKET THAT CAN ASSIST YOU IN COPPING YOUR MOST SOUGHT AFTER KICKS AT A FAIR PRICE. 
*FEATURED IMAGE SOURCE: https://cdn0.vox-cdn.com/thumbor/CKqVwRL_CWN9m4zdA_gseRFK-Fs=/0x0:1908×1073/1600×900/cdn0.vox-cdn.com/uploads/chorus_image/image/49278867/ffxi_zy2.0.png
Leave a Reply

